Tales of Monkey Island and The Secret of Monkey Island Special Edition

Wow, I honestly didn’t think this would ever happen, well not for a long time anyway. One of my favorite games of all time is getting some serious loving. I think I was about 6 when the very first Monkey Island game came out, I don’t think I could quite comprehend what was going on at the time but I grew incredibly attached to it (like so many other fans). I think this is the game that sparked off my really unhealthily love of computer games.

So what is Monkey Island? It's a point and click adventure sent in the Caribbean.

You play a pirate wanna-be called Guybrush Threepwood who’s sole goal is to become a pirate...a mighty pirate.

There have been 4 games in the series each getting sillier and funnier as the franchise has developed (some may disagree). Until the late 90’s where Lucasarts decided to stop making the point and click adventure games and concentrate on Starwars.

Until now...

The Secret of Monkey Island Special Edition

So after god knows how long Lucasarts has resurrected Guybrush and friends. Rather then me explaining what they have done, watch the video below for a great insight in to the process.

Ron Gilbert the creator of the game has also written a great blog post about this thoughts on the games, and has revealed some details of what was going through his mind when him and the 4 other members of the monkey team were making the original game.

One thing I will say is that there was also a second Monkey Island which I think was the EVEN better then the original (Monkey Island 2 LeChucks Revenge). Now I no expert on these things but if I was going to do a special edition of the original game, why not do the sequel at the same time. So I suspect that we may get a the second game sometime in the future.

Now I would have settled for just that announcement alone but wait there is far more...

Tales of Monkey Island

Telltale games who were started by some of the original Monkey Island team have licensed the franchise of Lucasarts have decided to create an episodic adventure of their own.

The game will consist of 5 chapters, with the first one being released on July 7th. The names of the chapters are as follows:
Chapter 1: Launch of the Screaming Narwhal
Chapter 2: The Siege of Spinner Cay
Chapter 3: Lair of the Leviathan
Chapter 4: The Trial and Execution of Guybrush Threepwood
Chapter 5: Rise of the Pirate God

I have already ordered this online, I can’t wait for this to get released... I’m going to have a whole summer of monkeys and I really can’t wait.

Here is an interview with Dave Grossman about the new game.

I recommend you all try these games if you are sick of the blood and guts shooters.


Saltd0g said...

I love the music in that Dave Grossman interview. Why not 360!?

Geeky Tom said...

No idea, I'm going to be enjoying on the PC...why don't you play it on your PC...oh wait!

Post a Comment